STU Moot Court
St. Thomas University College of Law

An Appellate Advocacy and Academic Training Organization Committed to Achieving Greatness.

Join UsConstitution & Bylaws
The STU College of Law Moot Court Board

About Us

The Moot Court Board of the St. Thomas University College of Law is hereby created to foster excellence in written and oral advocacy and competition. The Moot Court Board provides equal access and equal opportunity without regard to race, color, national origin, age, political affiliations or opinions, religion, marital status, veteran status, handicap status, sexual orientation, or gender.

Board Members

Meet the members of the St. Thomas College of Law Moot Courtr Board.

Aimee Garces
Aimee Garces


Marian Quintero
Marian Quintero

Vice President of Financial Affairs

Glenn Garcia
Glenn Garcia

Executive Vice President

Jennifer Blanco
Jennifer Blanco

Vice President of Membership

Danay Hernandez
Danay Hernandez

Vice President of Alumni Affairs

Claudia Gurdian
Claudia Gurdian

Vice President of Internal Affairs

Massiel Andino
Massiel Andino

Vice President of Membership

Join the STU Moot Court Team

Faculty Advisors

Portrait of Armando Hernandez
Armando Hernandez, Esq.

Armando Hernandez graduated from St. Thomas University School of Law, magna cum laude in 2010. Mr. Hernandez was an Executive Board Member for the St. Thomas Moot Court Board. He was also Executive Editor of the St. Thomas Law Review. Mr. Hernandez was a semi-finalist in the John J. Gibbons National Moot Court Competition, awarded Moot Court Best Oralist in the 2008 Intramural Competition, and received a scholarship for Oral Advocacy. He was a member of the Appellate Litigation Clinic while at STU Law. From 2010-2017, Mr. Hernandez served as Alumni Coach for countless moot court competitions, including, Gibbons, Wechsler, Zehmer, and Orseck.

Armando is the founder and managing partner of Law Offices of Armando G. Hernandez. He specializes in litigation in a variety of practice areas including personal injury, product liability, medical malpractice, first-party matters, commercial litigation, construction litigation, and much more. He has extensive trial and appellate experience in cases in state and federal courts. He has been recognized as a Daily Business Review’s Most Effective Lawyer (Product Liability Finalist), Top 40 Under 40 in South Florida, Florida Super Lawyers Rising Star, Florida Legal Elite Up & Comer, HYPE Go Getter Award Finalist, amongst other accolades.

Aileen P. Hernandez, Esq.

Aileen P. Hernandez graduated from St. Thomas University School of Law, magna cum laude in 2010. While at St. Thomas Law, Mrs. Hernandez was the Vice President of Membership for the St. Thomas Moot Court Board, a Senior Articles Editor for the St. Thomas Law Review, and member/competitor of the St. Thomas Mock Trial Team. Aileen was a part of the Appellate Litigation Clinic (2009-2010), during which she successfully argued O.B. v. State of Florida (2010), a noteworthy case in Florida’s Fourth Amendment jurisprudence. From 2010-2017, Aileen served as Alumni Coach for countless moot court competitions including, Gibbons, Prince, San Diego Criminal Procedure, and Orseck.

Mrs. Hernandez is a Senior Supervising Attorney at the Miami-Dade County Public Defender’s Office. She has extensive trial experience in felonies, misdemeanors, and juvenile. She has been recognized as a Top 40 Under 40 in South Florida as well as the prestigious Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyer’s (FACDL) James Miller Award as a rising star in criminal defense and liberty’s last champion.

Portrait of Aileen Hernandez

STU Law Blog

To Die in A Pastor’s Arms

To Die in A Pastor’s Arms

The Religious Land Use and Institutionalized Persons Act (RLUIPA) of 2000, provides that no substantial burden can be imposes on the religious exercise of a person, including state prisoners, unless the imposed burden is in furtherance of a...

read more

Moot Court Schedule

Updated October 10, 2021

ABA Law Student Division 2021-2022 National Appellate Adcovacy Competition (NAAC) 
Feb. 17, 2022

Join Maria Perez, Rachelle Aridi, Emily Chahede, and Christine Criswell. Hosted by The ABA Law Student Division.

Seigenthaler-Sutherland Cup National First Amendment Moot Court Competition


Mar. 18, 2022

Join Daniela Pachon and Nicholas Bastidas. Hosted by The Catholic University of America’s Columbus School of Law

Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Competition
Mar. 24, 2022

Join Claudia Martinez and George Izquierdo. Hosted by the Brooklyn Law School Moot Court Honor Society.

Saul Lefkowitz Trademark Competition
Feb. 12, 2022

Join Gabriella Bovo and Michael Mejia. Hosted by International Trademark Association.

Other Alumni and Legal Professionals

Thank you to all other alumni and local attorneys who volunteer their time as guest judges or coaches throughout the academic year!

Portrait of the STU Moot Court Board
Logo for St. Thomas University College of Law Moot Court

Alumni Newsletter

We welcome every one of you to help us as we plan future events and mentoring opportunities for our members. Your support will be greatly appreciated by every one of us. After all, we are all stronger when we work together, and we cannot do this without you.

    Support Us

    With your support, we will register more members for competitions, host professional development workshops, and much more.

    Online Store

    Apparel and merchandise that supports the STU Moot Court Team.

    Donate Today

    Your contribution is dearly appreciated. Donate to the STU Moot Court team.